Pro Football HOF enshrinees announced, Modell out

11:29 PM, Feb 2, 2013   |    comments
Photo Courtesy: Doug Pensinger/Getty Images
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

CLEVELAND -- Art Modell, owner of the Baltimore Ravens, did not make it into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Voting took place in New Orleans and ended around 5:20 p.m. Saturday. 

Sources say Modell was one of the first 5 people eliminated from Hall of Fame balloting.

The following will be enshrined in the 2013 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame:


  • Larry Allen
  • Cris Carter
  • Curley Culp 
  • Jonathan Ogden
  • Bill Parcells
  • Dave Robinson
  • Warren Sapp

There were five players eliminate in the final vote including Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.

Modell was eliminated prior to that vote along with Tim Bown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields Edward DeBartolo Jr., who was also a team owner.

Art Modell received lots of criticism from Clevelanders and many others after moving the Cleveland Browns to Baltimore in 1996. 

Some say that very move may be the one that keeps him out of the Hall of Fame for years despite other contributions he's made to the NFL.


Most Watched Videos