Associated Press names boys hoops all-tourney teams

8:30 AM, Mar 25, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Following the conclusion of the 2013 Ohio High School Athletic Association boys basketball state tournament on Saturday, the Associated Press named an all-tournament team for each division. The teams were compiled based on the recommendations of a media panel.

Division I

Mentor's Jeff Foreman had 39 points in two games to lead the Cardinals to their first title and in doing so is the most outstanding player on The Associated Press Division I all-tournament team.

Foreman had 19 points and five rebounds Saturday in the 76-67 championship game win against Toledo Rogers. He netted 20 in a semifinal victory against Columbus Northland.

Joining him are teammates Caleb Potter, who rebounded from no points in the semifinal to a team-high 24 points against Rogers, and Connor Krizancic, who had 33 points in a pair of games.

Also on the list are Rogers' Tony Kynard (33 points and 7 rebounds in two games); Walnut Hills' DJ Wingfield (20 points and nine rebounds in a semifinal loss); and Northland's Ty Hairston (19 points in one game).

Division II

Columbus Watterson's Matt Hughes helped the Eagles win their first title on Saturday and was named the most outstanding player on The Associated Press Division II all-tournament team.

Watterson (28-1) defeated Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary 55-52 in the championship game as Hughes had 14 points. He totaled 35 points in the semifinal and final and also collected 15 rebounds in two games.

Joining him on the first team were teammates Cody Calhoun (23 points and 13 rebounds in two games) and Matt Lehman (22 points and 12 rebounds in two games); St. Vincent-St. Mary's Nick Wells (32 points and 13 rebounds in two games); Vincent Warren's Reece Patton (21 points and six rebounds in a semifinal loss) and Kettering Alter's Jaaron Simmons (17 points in one game).

Division III

Ottawa-Glandorf's T.J. Metzger had 36 points in the championship game on Saturday and is the outstanding player on the Associated Press Division III all-tournament team.

Metzger tied the all division record for three pointers (nine) and tied the Division III mark for points as the Titans defeated Versailles 67-46. He also had 25 points, including the winning free throw in overtime, in the semifinal win vs. Ironton.

Joining him on the all-tourney team are teammate Matt Kaufman (18 point, 11 rebounds and 11 assists in the championship and title game); Versailles Kyle Ahrens (33 points in two games); Ironton's Trey Fletcher (27 points and 13 rebounds in a semifinal loss) and Leavittsburg LaBrae's Peyton Aldridge ( 23 points and nine rebounds in a semifinal loss).

Division IV

Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph's Duane Gibson Jr.'s all-around game made him the most outstanding player on the 2013 Associated Press Division IV all-tournament team.

Gibson had 22 points in the Vikings' 87-63 title game win over Leipsic on Saturday along with 22 points in a semifinal win over Troy Christian. He also had 14 rebounds and 17 assists in the two games.

Gibson was joined on the team by teammates Demonte Flannigan (41 points, 17 rebounds, 5 blocks in two games) and Brian Parker (23 points, 11 rebounds); the Leipsic duo of Zach Kuhlman (32 points) and Devin Mangas (21 points, 10 rebounds) and Lancaster Fairfield Christian's Steven Carpenter (26 points, 6 assists in a semifinal loss to Leipsic).

For more Northeast Ohio high school sports news, scores, photos and videos, visit  

Most Watched Videos