Statewide ban on texting and driving goes into effect

9:02 AM, Mar 1, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

COLUMBUS -- Today (March 1) the statewide ban on texting and driving goes into effect in Ohio.

Under the law, no driver is permitted to text and drive, according to Lake County Sheriff Deputy Frank Leonbruno.

For drivers under age 18, the use of portable electronic devices while driving is banned. These means drivers under age 18 cannot text, email, play video games, use a GPS device NOR talk on the phone while driving, even if you are stopped in traffic or at a traffic light, Leonbruno said.

For drivers under age 18, it is a primary offense, which means you can be stopped for any of the reasons listed above. The first violation is a $150 fine, and driver's license suspended for 60 days.

The second offense is a $300 fine, and driver's license suspended for a year.

It's a primary offense, which means law enforcement can stop you for any of the above reasons.

For drivers over 18, it is a secondary enforcement offense, meaning police need another reason to stop and cite violators, such as weaving or speeding.

For drivers over 18, it is illegal to use a handheld electronic wireless communications device to write, send or read a text while driving in Ohio.

The offense is a minor misdemeanor, and you could face a fine of up to $150.


Most Watched Videos