Fiscal Cliff: How Ohio reps, senators voted

7:41 AM, Jan 2, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

WASHINGTON -- The bill avoiding the proverbial fiscal cliff successfully passed in both the Senate and House of Representatives, but how did Ohio's elected leaders vote?

The legislation, called the Job Protection and Recession Prevention Act of 2012, passed in the Senate early Tuesday morning, ironically in 2013, by a vote of 89 to 8.

Late Tuesday night, the House of Representatives also passed the bill, by a vote of 257 to 167.

The bill now heads to the Oval Office to be signed into law by President Barack Obama.

CLICK HERE for special expanded fiscal cliff coverage.

In the Senate, 47 Democrats, 40 Republicans and 2 independents voted for the measure, while 3 Democrats and 5 Republicans voted against it.

Meanwhile, in the House of Representatives, 172 Democrats and 85 Republicans voted for the bill and 16 Democrats and 151 Republicans voted against it. There are also three vacant seats in the 435-member House.

How did Ohio's congressional representatives stack up against the nation?

Both senators Sherrod Brown (D) and Rob Portman (R) voted for the bill.

Here's a breakdown of how Ohio's house members voted:

• Marcia Fudge (D-11): Yes

• Marcy Kaptur (D-9): Yes

• Dennis Kucinich (D-10): Yes

• Tim Ryan (D-17): Yes

• Betty Sutton (D-13): Yes

• Steve Austria (R-7): No

• John Boehner (R-8): Yes

• Steve Chabot (R-1): No

• Bob Gibbs (R-18): No

• Bill Johnson (R-6): Yes

• Jim Jordan (R-4): No

• Steve LaTourette (R-14): Yes

• Bob Latta (R-5): Yes

• Jim Renacci (R-16): No

• Jean Schmidt (R-2): No

• Steve Stivers (R-15): Yes

• Pat Tiberi (R-12): Yes

• Mike Turner (R-3): No

To view the full-text of the bill as a PDF file, CLICK HERE.

The Associated Press/WKYC-TV

Most Watched Videos