Greater Cleveland Sports Awards handed out

10:44 PM, Jan 24, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

CLEVELAND -- Cleveland Cavs point guard Kyrie Irving won the Professional Athlete of the Year. The 20-year old is averaging 23.7 points per game this season. Irving was also named to the Eastern Conference All-Star team as a reserve.

Tianna (Madison) Bartoletta won the Amateur Athlete of the Year.  The Elyria native won a gold medal at London summer games in the women's 4x100 relay.

The Kent State University men's baseball team won the Collegiate Athlete of the Year. The Golden Flashes had a Cinderella season which included wins over Kentucky and Number-one seeded Florida in the College World Series.

Kent State eventually lost to South Carolina.

Mentor quarterback Mitch Trubisky won the High School Athlete of the Year. Trubisky was voted Ohio's Mr. Football back in late November. He will play college football at the University of North Carolina.

Doug Dieken received the Lifetime Achievement Award. The former offensive lineman played his entire career in Cleveland from 1971-1984.

Molly Miller received the Courage Award presented by Cleveland Clinic Sports Health.


Most Watched Videos